Master Scholarships in Embedded Computing Systems, Erasmus Mundus, Europe

  • VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

The European Master`s Course in Embedded Computing Systems (EMECS) is designed to educate Bachelor graduates from Electrical & Computer Engineering and Computer Science as well as graduates from related disciplines to become experts in the field of Embedded Computing Systems. The participating institutions are:

University of Kaiserslautern (TUKL), Germany
Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway
Faculty of Information Technology Mathematics and Electrical Engineering

University of Southampton (UoS), United Kingdom
School of Electronics and Computer Science

EMECS is a two-years Master`s Course (120 ECTS credits) that can be pursued at any two of the three participating institutions. Students will earn 50% of the credits at each institution leading to a joint degree from the respective institutions. The language of instruction is English. Students participating in this programme will be trained in three major areas:

Hardware Architectures of Embedded Systems
System-on-Chip Design
System Software

These areas constitute the `Core Programme` of EMECS and will be taught during the first year of study at each institution. Completion of the core programme (45 ECTS credits) will ensure the mobility of the students after the first year of study.

About Embedded Systems
An `embedded computing system`, or simply `embedded system`, is a complex computer system which is specialized for certain applications in a particular technical environment. At the core of such a system there are one or several microprocessors programmed to perform application-specific tasks. Parts of the system are usually realized as a System-on-Chip (SoC). The computing components of an embedded system, typically, do not rely on classical user interfaces like keyboards and monitors. Instead, they communicate with the system environment through interfaces which are invisible to the human user. Embedded systems take over increasingly complex computing tasks in applications ranging from aerospace, automotive and robotic systems to consumer electronics, process control, manufacturing and telecommunication. Smart houses need massive support from embedded systems for sensing and actuation. Embedded systems are also vital in medical technology and biomedical systems like pacemakers, motion control, ultrasound diagnostics, and cardiographic equipment. In addition, they are indispensible in monitoring and control of environmental systems. An emerging technology is called `bio-inspired hardware`, a field taking inspiration from nature to rethink the way computational machines are built and how they operate.

While general-purpose computing systems such as desktop PCs are designed for a wide spectrum of applications, embedded computing systems are individually optimized to fulfill a small number of specialized tasks. Consequently, there is a wealth of embedded system architectures and design styles which are driven by particular requirements in specific application domains. While the market on desktop computing is dominated by a few major companies, “embedded systems” is still an open field with large growth rates. More than 90 % of all processors being sold today are not used in general purpose desktop computing (personal computers) but are designed specifically for special-purpose embedded applications.

An increasing number of highly skilled embedded systems engineers will be needed to lead this development in Europe and world-wide. This is also emphasized in the study titled `Zukunft Digitale Wirtschaft (Future Digital Economy)` by Roland Berger Strategy Consultants which was ordered by the German chancellor for the first German IT Summit in 2007. The Roland Berger study identifies Embedded Systems as one of six `hidden champions` with particular importance to the national and European economy.

Application Form In order to apply for EMECS follow the instructions on the application form. On the application form you can also apply for an Erasmus Mundus Scholarship. No separate scholarship application is needed.

Non-European applicants can receive a Category A scholarship. You are a considered a Non-European applicant if you come from a country other than a Member State of the European Union, an EEA-EFTA State (Island, Norway, Liechtenstein), Turkey, the Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegowina, Croatia, Kosovo, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia) or Switzerland. You must not be a resident of any of these countries and you must not have carried out your main activity (study, work, etc.) for more than a total of twelve months over the last five years in one of these countries.

Otherwise you are considered a European applicant and you can receive a Category B scholarship.

Application Deadline for Non-European applicants (Category A): January 15, 2010

Application Deadline for European applicants (Category B): April 30, 2010

Applicants from Turkey, Switzerland and the Western Balkan countries: these countries to this date have not yet signed the Erasmus Mundus agreements with the EU. Applicants from these countries must apply at the early deadline (January 15, 2010).


Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to ensure the above information is current and correct. However, applicants should contact the appropriate administering body before making an application, as details do change frequently.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>