MSc in Internal Medicine Scholarships, Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, UK

  • VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (4 votes cast)

Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh UKRCPE Scholarships aim to enable talented doctors to undertake the joint University of Edinburgh/RCPE MSc in Internal Medicine, part-time, by distance learning. For entry in September 2013 seven scholarships are available:

  • The RCPE Turner Scholarship
    One full scholarship for a doctor who is a resident citizen of an eligible Sub-Saharan African country 1
  • 75% Scholarships
    Four scholarships where the College will pay 75% of your tuition fees each year for doctors who are resident citizens of a DfID priority country 2
  • 50% Scholarships
    Two scholarships where the College will pay 50% of your tuition fees each year for doctors who are resident in the UK or any country not in the DfID list

To apply applicants must:

  • Be self-funding (support from friends and relatives is acceptable)
  • Be a resident citizen in a qualifying country
  • For the full and 75% scholarships - not have studied in a developed country previously (though applicants who have are welcome to apply for the 50% scholarships)
  • Have been accepted onto the MSc

The deadline for scholarship applications is 30 June 2013. Decisions will be made in the first 2 weeks of July and communicated to applicants by the end of July.

Decision making
We will use information you supply in the University MSc application process on your educational background, your personal statement, and the 2 academic references, and supplement this with:

  • Explain how your attainment of this MSc will benefit your career (250 words)
  • Explain how your attainment of this MSc will benefit the service you work in (250 words)
  • What is it about this course that makes you want to study with the University of Edinburgh? (200 words)

Each question will be scored by four assessors, and applications with the highest score will be in contention. Where it is not possible to discern between high-quality applications, decisions will be made by lottery. Priority will be given to those who are in their first 10 years post-qualifying as a doctor.

Term and conditions
RCPE reserves the right to adjust award of scholarships if we do not receive applications from suitably qualified candidates for all scholarships listed.

The scholarships will be paid directly to the University of Edinburgh Tuition Fees department, at the start of each academic year. Recipients of all scholarships are expected to obtain passes at Masters level (50%) each year in order to qualify for the next year of funding. Students who pass at 50% or higher and wish to defer for a year before resuming their studies will be able to defer the subsequent years of the scholarship at the College’s discretion. Alternatively, they may conclude their studies with the Certificate (after one year) or Diploma (after 2 years).

Students who are funded at any point of the course by a sponsor (i.e. have their tuition fees paid by an employer, industry or government sponsor, charity or third-party organisation) are not eligible to apply. Scholarship recipients must advise the RCPE if at any time you obtain funding from another source and stop being self-funding. In such cases the RCPE scholarship will be offered to another student, who is self-funding.

Scholarship recipients will be required to submit an end-of-programme report at the conclusion of their studies.

We would like to publish limited details of scholarship recipients (name, country, photograph, brief biography) online on either or both of the RCPE of the University of Edinburgh websites, and possibly also on printed materials. If selected, we will seek your permission to do this.

1 Eligible countries in SSA are those also listed in the DfID priority list: Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, St Helena, Sudan, Tanzania, The Gambia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

2 Countries on the DfID priority list: Afghanistan, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belize, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, China, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Dominica, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Moldova, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Occupied Palestinian Territories, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, The Gambia, Tunisia, Uganda, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

For more information, please visit official website:

Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to ensure the above information is current and correct. However, applicants should contact the appropriate administering body before making an application, as details do change frequently.

One comment on “MSc in Internal Medicine Scholarships, Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, UK


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>