New Zealand Development Scholarship

  • VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

The New Zealand Development Scholarships (NZDS) scheme offers the opportunity to people from selected developing countries to undertake development-related studies in New Zealand. This may include study related to education, health, rural livelihoods, governance, human rights, or economic development, depending on the human resource development training needs of the home government.

New Zealand -Development Scholarships are offered for full-time, tertiary level study at participating New Zealand education institutions.

The NZDS scheme has two categories:

1-New Zealand Development Scholarships – Public category (NZDS-Public)
The NZDS-Public scholarships scheme is a bilateral scheme available to individuals from selected partner countries in Southeast Asia and thePacific. The selection criteria is determined by the partner government and NZAID.

Shortlisted applications, mostly from public sector employees, are endorsed for a scholarship by the partner government. Employees from civil society or private sector organisations may apply for the NZDS-Public in some countries depending on country-specific selection criteria. The levels and fields of study available for study in New Zealand are determined according to the partner country’s human resource development training needs.

Country eligibility download: Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Philippines, Timor-Leste, Vietnam, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Vanuatu.

2-New Zealand Development Scholarships – Open category (NZDS-Open)
The NZDS-Open scholarships scheme is a non-bilateral scheme available to candidates of some developing countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Pacific. Under the NZDS-Open scheme, candidates independently apply for a scholarship.

NZDS-Open scholarships are generally directed at employees of private sector or civil society sector organisations, including non-governmental organisations. In some countries, public sector employees can also apply for a NZDS-Open scholarship depending on the country or region-specific selection criteria. This criteria also determines the levels and the fields of study under which candidates can apply to study in New Zealand.

Eligible countries in South Asia and Southeast Asia: Cambodia,Indonesia, Lao PDR, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Vietnam

Eligible countries in the Pacific region:
Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau, Fiji, Kiribati, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Vanuatu

Eligible countries in Latin America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile (including Rapa Nui), Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Uruguay

Eligible countries in Africa: Kenya, Mozambique, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia

For more info, please visit the official announcement.

Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to ensure the above information is current and correct. However, applicants should contact the appropriate administering body before making an application, as details do change frequently.

3 comments on “New Zealand Development Scholarship

  1. i dot what i have to say,,honestly..i just interested about new zealand culture,,,
    firstly,,i just watched news about NZ culture report..n am very interest with its scenery,,,
    so beautiful places i have seen…i dont know is i deserve to ge a scholarship to abroad??
    but i have a dream to study overthere… of my reason is I AM very interest d.culture,,
    it was my reason to take my lecture in “ENGLISH”…

  2. I am kenyan lady &an orphan i would want t get a full scholarship for an undergradute course in social work&social adminstrations or community development . . Any help i can get i would be grateful thank you


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>